Data report · Updated October 2026
Barber license requirements by state: from 750 training hours to 1,800
Training hours, apprenticeship routes, exams, minimum ages and fees, each checked against the state's own board page.
Barber licensing rules vary widely by state. Among the 27 states where we confirmed school hours, Vermont and Virginia require the fewest school hours, 750 each, and Michigan the most, 1,800[1][2][3]. A 1,500-hour course is the most common requirement, followed by 1,000 hours.

1,500
Most common school-hour requirement among verified states[4]
1,800
Hours required in Michigan, the most of any verified state[3]
750
Hours required in Vermont and Virginia, the fewest verified[2]
79.9%
Share of barbers who are self-employed once licensed[5]
By Jessica Hamilton, Editor · Published · Updated · Free to reuse with credit (CC BY 4.0)
Key findings
- Michigan requires the most barber school hours of any state we verified, 1,800[3].
- Vermont and Virginia require the fewest, 750 hours each; Virginia cut its requirement from 1,100 hours effective December 1, 2025[1][2].
- Eight verified states require 1,500 hours: Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia (master barber), Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Tennessee (menhaircuts.net count)[6][7][8][9][10][11][12][4].
- Texas and California, the two states with the most barbershops, each require 1,000 school hours[13][14].
- California's apprenticeship route takes 3,200 on-the-job hours over two years, more than three times its 1,000-hour school route[14][15].
- Most verified states require both a written and a practical exam; New York's board lists only a practical exam[16].
- BLS lists a postsecondary nondegree award, such as a barber school certificate, as the typical entry-level education for barbers[17].
How many hours of barber school do you need?
It depends entirely on the state. Among the 27 states where we confirmed the number on the state board's own page, a document the board hosts, or (for Georgia, Maine and South Dakota) the state law or rule, the requirement for a standard barber license runs from 750 hours in Vermont and Virginia to 1,800 hours in Michigan[1][2][3]. The most common figure is 1,500 hours, required in Arkansas, Colorado, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Tennessee, and for Georgia's master barber license[6][7][9][10][11][12][4][8].
A 1,000-hour course is the other common standard, used by Alabama, California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Missouri, Texas and Washington[18][14][19][20][21][13][22]. Full-time students usually finish 1,000 hours in well under a year, but schools set their own schedules.
For the other 23 states the board page did not load during our check or did not state the hours. Those rows say "See state board". Requirements change, as Virginia's 2025 cut shows, so confirm with the board before enrolling.
Show the numbers
| Category | Value |
|---|---|
| Michigan | 1,800 |
| Alaska | 1,650 |
| Iowa (combined license) | 1,550 |
| Tennessee | 1,500 |
| Oklahoma | 1,500 |
| Pennsylvania | 1,250 |
| Maryland | 1,200 |
| West Virginia | 1,200 |
| Montana (chemical) | 1,100 |
| Texas | 1,000 |
| California | 1,000 |
| Maine | 800 |
| Virginia | 750 |
| Vermont | 750 |
Barber license requirements in all 50 states
The table lists the standard barber license in each state. Where a state has two tiers, such as barber and master barber, we note which one the hours refer to. Click the source number next to a state name to open the board page we used. "Not stated" means the board page we read did not give that detail; "See state board" means we could not verify it from the board.
A note on Iowa: it now issues a single combined barbering and cosmetology license, so its 1,550 hours cover both[23]. Oregon licenses barbering as a field of practice under its Board of Cosmetology, with 746 barbering hours plus 20 hours of Oregon laws and rules and 20 hours of career development[24].
| State | School hours | Apprenticeship route | Exams | Minimum age | Fees stated by board | Licensing board |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama[18] | 1,000 | 2,000 hours within 2 years | Written and practical | 16 | Written $75, practical $130, original license $50[25] | Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Alaska[26] | 1,650 | 2,000 hours | Written (plus a school or instructor proficiency test for apprentices) | Not stated | $150 application + $180 initial license ($330) | Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers |
| Arizona | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board (bcb.az.gov) |
| Arkansas[6] | 1,500 | Not stated | Practical, written and oral | Not stated | Not stated | Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners |
| California[14] | 1,000 | 3,200 on-the-job hours over 2 years[15] | Written[27] | 17 | $125 exam and initial license[28] | California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology |
| Colorado[7] | 1,500 (or 50 credit hours) | Allowed; hours not stated | Written and practical | 16 | $32 exam application | Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure |
| Connecticut[19] | 1,000 | Not stated | State exam (Prometric) | Not stated | $100 application | Connecticut Department of Public Health |
| Delaware[29] | See state board | See state board | Practical exam via Prometric | See state board | Not stated | Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Florida | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Florida Barbers' Board (www2.myfloridalicense.com/barbers/) |
| Georgia[8] | 1,500 (master barber) | 3,000 hours over 18 months[30] | Written and practical[30] | Not stated | Not stated | Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers |
| Hawaii | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Hawaii Board of Barbering and Cosmetology |
| Idaho[31] | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | $30 application, $60 license | Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board |
| Illinois[32] | See state board | See state board | National written exam | See state board | $112 exam | Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation |
| Indiana | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Indiana Professional Licensing Agency |
| Iowa[23] | 1,550 (combined barbering and cosmetology license) | Accepted; hours not stated | Theory exam | Not stated | $60 application | Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing |
| Kansas[33] | 1,200 to 1,500 | Not stated | NIC theory, practical and state rules[34] | Not stated | $230 initial exam[34] | Kansas Board of Barbering |
| Kentucky | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Kentucky Board of Barbering (barbering.ky.gov) |
| Louisiana | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Louisiana Board of Barber Examiners |
| Maine[35] | 800 (over at least 5 months) | 1,600 hours over at least 10 months | Approved exam | No minimum (repealed) | Not stated | Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation |
| Maryland[36] | 1,200 | 2,250 hours | Theory and practical[37] | Not stated | $77 exams[37], $56 license[38] | Maryland State Board of Barbers |
| Massachusetts[20] | 1,000 | School-based program; hours not stated | Written theory | Not stated | $66 application | Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Michigan[3] | 1,800 | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Michigan Board of Barber Examiners |
| Minnesota | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners (mn.gov/boards/barber-examiners/) |
| Mississippi | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (msbcb.ms.gov) |
| Missouri[21] | 1,000 (over at least 6 months) | 2,000 hours | Written and practical | 17 | $20 first license; $25 apprentice | Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners |
| Montana[39] | 1,100 (chemical); 900 (non-chemical) | 2,200 hours (chemical) | Theory and practical | Not stated | Not stated | Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists |
| Nebraska | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Nebraska Board of Barber Examiners |
| Nevada[9] | 1,500 | Not stated | Written/oral and practical | Not stated | $100 exam | Nevada State Barbers' Health and Sanitation Board |
| New Hampshire[40] | See state board | See state board | State exam (ProV) | Not stated | $55 application[41] | New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics |
| New Jersey[42] | See state board | See state board | Written | See state board | $50 application, $90 license | New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling |
| New Mexico[43] | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | $100 master barber license | New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists |
| New York[16] | No hours listed; approved course | 2 years as a registered apprentice | Practical | 17 | $40 application, $15 exam | New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services |
| North Carolina[44] | See state board | 12-month apprenticeship before the barber exam | Not stated | See state board | $85 barber exam | North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners |
| North Dakota[10] | 1,500 | Not stated | Written and practical | Not stated | Not stated | North Dakota State Board of Barber Examiners |
| Ohio | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board |
| Oklahoma[11] | 1,500 | Not stated | Written and practical | 16 | $50 exam | Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering |
| Oregon[24] | 746 barbering + 40 laws and career hours | Not stated | Practical (through school), written, and Oregon laws and rules | Not stated | Not stated | Oregon Board of Cosmetology (Health Licensing Office) |
| Pennsylvania[45] | 1,250 | 1,250 hours in a licensed barber shop | Theory and practical | Not stated | $173 application and exams | Pennsylvania State Board of Barber Examiners |
| Rhode Island[46] | See state board | Alternate route: 1,000 school hours plus 840 on-the-job hours as a registered apprentice | Written and practical | See state board | See state board | Rhode Island Department of Health |
| South Carolina | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners (llr.sc.gov/bar/) |
| South Dakota[12] | 1,500[47] | Not stated | Written and practical | 18[47] | $225 exam application[48] | South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners |
| Tennessee[4] | 1,500 | Not stated | Not stated | 16 | $60 application | Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners |
| Texas[13] | 1,000 (Class A barber) | Not stated | Written and practical | 17 | $50 application | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation |
| Utah | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Utah Division of Professional Licensing |
| Vermont[1] | 750 | 1,125 hours | Written and practical | Not stated | Not stated | Vermont Office of Professional Regulation |
| Virginia[2] | 750 (cut from 1,100 on Dec 1, 2025) | Virginia apprenticeship program[49] | Theory and practical[49] | Not stated | $194 exams[49] | Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology |
| Washington[22] | 1,000 | 2,000 hours | Written and practical | 17 | $35 license[50] | Washington Department of Licensing |
| West Virginia[51] | 1,200 | Allowed; hours not stated | Third-party exam | Not stated | Not stated | West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists |
| Wisconsin | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | See state board | Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services |
| Wyoming[52] | See state board | See state board | Theory and practical (NIC) | See state board | Not stated | Wyoming Board of Cosmetology |
Can you become a barber through an apprenticeship?
In many states, yes. An apprenticeship lets you train in a working shop under a licensed barber instead of attending school, but it usually takes longer in hours. Alabama allows 2,000 apprentice hours within two years instead of 1,000 school hours[18]. Washington accepts 2,000 apprenticeship hours instead of 1,000 school hours[22]. Maryland accepts 2,250 apprentice hours instead of 1,200 school hours[36].
Some states are more generous. Pennsylvania lets you complete the same 1,250 hours in a licensed barber shop under a barber manager or teacher[45]. New York has no school-hour figure on its board page; its alternative to an approved course is two years as a registered barber apprentice[16].
In North Carolina the apprenticeship comes after school: candidates complete a 12-month apprenticeship before taking the licensed barber exam[44].
| State | School hours | Apprenticeship |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 1,000 | 2,000 hours |
| Washington | 1,000 | 2,000 hours |
| Missouri | 1,000 | 2,000 hours |
| Maryland | 1,200 | 2,250 hours |
| Vermont | 750 | 1,125 hours |
| Maine | 800 | 1,600 hours |
| California | 1,000 | 3,200 on-the-job hours |
What exams do you need to pass to get a barber license?
Most states require two exams: a written theory test and a hands-on practical exam. Texas, Washington, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Missouri, North Dakota and South Dakota all list both[13][22][11][45][37][21][10][12]. Many use national exams from the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC), as South Dakota and Wyoming do[12][52].
A few states differ. California says candidates only need to pass the written exam[27]. Alaska's application lists a written exam, plus a proficiency test given by a school or instructor for applicants trained through an apprenticeship[26]. New York lists a practical exam only[16]. Kansas adds a state rules and regulations exam[34].
Passing scores are often set at 75%, as in Oklahoma and Iowa[11][23].
How old do you have to be to get a barber license?
Minimum ages range from 16 to 18 where boards state one. Alabama, Colorado, Oklahoma and Tennessee allow 16-year-olds[18][7][11][4]. California, Missouri, New York, Texas and Washington set 17[14][21][16][13][22]. South Dakota requires 18[47]. Maine repealed its age requirement[35].
Some states set an education floor instead of, or as well as, an age. Oklahoma asks for at least an eighth-grade education[11], and Pennsylvania lists an eighth-grade education or equivalent[45].
How much does a barber license cost?
Board fees are modest next to school tuition, which this report does not cover. Single fees we found range from $20 for a first barber license in Missouri to $330 in Alaska, where the application and initial license together cost $330[21][26]. Washington charges $35 for the license[50]. Pennsylvania's application and both exams total $173[45], Kansas charges $230 for the initial exam[34] and South Dakota $225 for the exam application[48].
These are fees paid to the board or its testing vendor. Many states also charge separate testing-company fees that the board page does not list, so the total can be higher.
Show the numbers
| Category | Value |
|---|---|
| Alaska | $330 |
| Alabama | $255 |
| Kansas | $230 |
| South Dakota | $225 |
| Virginia | $194 |
| Pennsylvania | $173 |
| California | $125 |
| Texas | $50 |
Which states changed barber licensing rules recently?
Virginia made the biggest recent change: barber school hours fell from 1,100 to 750, effective December 1, 2025[2]. Montana adopted new rules in November 2025 setting an 1,100-hour chemical barbering course and a 2,200-hour chemical barbering apprenticeship[39].
Several states have merged barber and cosmetology boards. Iowa now issues one combined barbering and cosmetology license[23], and Massachusetts handles barbers through a combined Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering[20]. Texas regulates both trades through its Department of Licensing and Regulation[13].
Is getting a barber license worth it?
Licensing is the gate to a trade that BLS projects will have about 6,900 openings a year through 2035[17]. Payroll barbers earned a median $38,210 in May 2025[53], and about four in five barbers work for themselves once licensed[5]. Pay by state is in our barber salary by state report.
Hours alone do not tell you how long it takes. A 1,500-hour course at 40 hours a week is about 37.5 weeks of instruction (menhaircuts.net calculation: 1,500 / 40), while a 1,000-hour course is 25 weeks. For what barbers learn, see our barbering basics guide.
Frequently asked questions
How many hours of barber school are required in Texas?
How many hours of barber school are required in California?
Which state requires the most barber school hours?
Which state requires the fewest barber school hours?
Can you get a barber license without going to school?
How long does barber school take?
Methodology and limitations
For each state we located the official barber licensing board or agency and read its own pages (or documents it hosts, such as fee schedules, rule books and licensing guides) for training hours, apprenticeship hours, exams, minimum age and fees for the standard barber license, on October 15, 2026. A figure appears only if it was stated on that page. Where a board page did not state a figure but a state law or rule did (Georgia, Maine, South Dakota), we cite the law. Michigan's board site blocked our check, so its 1,800-hour figure is cited to CLEAR, the regulators' association. Where the figure could not be confirmed, the cell says "See state board" or "Not stated". Counts of states, fee totals and week estimates are menhaircuts.net calculations.
Limitations
Rules change often, and some board pages lag behind new laws. Eight board sites (Hawaii, Indiana, Louisiana, Nebraska, Ohio, Utah, Wisconsin and Mississippi) could not be reached, and several others were behind bot checks, so 22 states lack verified school hours here. Hours shown are for the standard barber license; master, Class A, chemical and non-chemical tiers differ. Fees exclude tuition and most testing-company charges. This is not legal advice; confirm requirements with the state board before enrolling.
Every figure on this page links to its source. Numbers are reported as published; any menhaircuts.net calculation is labelled and shows its inputs. Spotted an error? Tell us and we will check it.
Sources
- Vermont Office of Professional Regulation: barber licensing requirements, Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology: barber licensing requirements, Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Michigan considers reduced training requirement for barbers, Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR) (2025). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- National Employment Matrix, occupation 39-5011 Barbers, 2025 and projected 2035, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber/Cosmetology Licensing Guide (linked from dpo.colorado.gov/BarberCosmetology/Applications), Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 240-14-.02: Master barber school curriculum (1,500 hours), Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Nevada State Barbers' Health and Sanitation Board: barber licensing requirements, Nevada State Barbers' Health and Sanitation Board (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- North Dakota State Board of Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, North Dakota State Board of Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering: barber licensing requirements, Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: barber licensing requirements, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology: barber licensing requirements, California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Apprenticeship, California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services: barber licensing requirements, New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Employment Projections: Occupational projections, 2025-35, and worker characteristics, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering: barber licensing requirements, Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Connecticut Department of Public Health: barber licensing requirements, Connecticut Department of Public Health (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering: barber licensing requirements, Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Washington Department of Licensing: barber licensing requirements, Washington Department of Licensing (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing: barber licensing requirements, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Oregon Board of Cosmetology (Health Licensing Office): barber licensing requirements, Oregon Board of Cosmetology (Health Licensing Office) (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Fees, Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber, Hairdresser and Esthetician application instructions (form 08-4796), Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Applicants: examination information, California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Application for examination and initial license: Barber (form F-34555-B-BOC), California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (2025). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering: barber licensing requirements, Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers FAQ, Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board: barber licensing requirements, Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: barber licensing requirements, Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Kansas Board of Barbering: barber licensing requirements, Kansas Board of Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- License exam, Kansas Board of Barbering (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- 32 MRSA §14227-A: Barber hair stylist license requirements, Maine Legislature (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Maryland State Board of Barbers: barber licensing requirements, Maryland State Board of Barbers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber examinations, Maryland State Board of Barbers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber forms and fees, Maryland State Board of Barbers (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- MAR Notice 2025-221: barbering school and apprenticeship rules (effective Nov. 22, 2025), Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics: barber licensing requirements, New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- License fees, New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling: barber licensing requirements, New Jersey Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists: barber licensing requirements, New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners: barber licensing requirements, North Carolina Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Pennsylvania State Board of Barber Examiners: barber licensing requirements, Pennsylvania State Board of Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Rhode Island Department of Health: barber licensing requirements, Rhode Island Department of Health (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- 2022 Session Laws, Chapter 149 (HB 1169): registered barber license requirements, South Dakota Legislature (2022). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber examination application form, South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Barber exam and license application (A450-1301EXLIC), Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Fees: Cosmetologists (includes barber), Washington Department of Licensing (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists: barber licensing requirements, West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- Wyoming Board of Cosmetology: barber licensing requirements, Wyoming Board of Cosmetology (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
- OEWS Profiles: Barbers (39-5011), May 2025 national, state, metro and industry estimates, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2026). Accessed October 15, 2026.
Cite, embed and download
This report, its charts and its infographic are free to reuse under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. Credit menhaircuts.net with a link to this page.
Cite this report (APA)
Hamilton, J. (2026, October 15). Barber License Requirements by State 2026: Hours and Exams. menhaircuts.net. https://menhaircuts.net/stats/barber-license-requirements-by-state/
Link to this report
<a href="https://menhaircuts.net/stats/barber-license-requirements-by-state/">Barber License Requirements by State 2026: Hours and Exams</a> (menhaircuts.net, CC BY 4.0)Share the headline number
1,500: Most common school-hour requirement among verified states (Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, via menhaircuts.net/stats/barber-license-requirements-by-state/)
Download the charts and infographic
Related data
- 75,800Barber jobs in the US, 2025 (including self-employed)Barber Industry Statistics 2026
- $38,210Median annual wage for barbers, May 2025Barber Salary by State 2026
- 154,456Barbershops with no employees (nonemployer), 2024How Many Barbershops Are in the US? 2026 Census Data
- ~2 in 3Barbershop bookings made by clients through self-serviceBarbershop Booking Statistics 2026
Related guides
Make us a Preferred Source on Google
See our latest articles first in your Google Search & AI Overviews.
